Grammy Peggy’s Oatmeal Cookies

oatmeal-cookies-ericasrecipes-watermark2

This is my grandmother’s recipe and makes a thin, light oatmeal cookie – chewy right from the oven or crispy after they cool. This recipe has ruined me. I am simply unable to enjoy other oatmeal cookies!

Grammy Peggy’s Oatmeal Cookies 

  • 1 c all-purpose flour
  • ½ c packed light brown sugar
  • ½ c sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 t pure vanilla extract
  • ½ c shortening
  • ¾ c Old fashioned rolled oats
  • ½ t kosher salt
  • ½ t baking powder
  • ½ t baking soda

Preheat oven to 375F.

In one mixing bowl, combine the brown sugar, sugar, egg, vanilla, and shortening. In a separate bowl, combine the dry ingredients – the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the wet and stir. Add the oats. Drop by 1-inch rounds onto baking sheets. Cook about 12 min or until lightly golden around the edges. Remove from the oven and transfer the cookies immediately to a rack to cool. Makes ~20 cookies.

~✿♥✿~

4 thoughts on “Grammy Peggy’s Oatmeal Cookies

  1. I just tried these, outstanding! Makes a very small 20 cookie batch, but great cookie. Very crumbly when they cool and about 1/4″ thick. Light and crispy. My husband gobbled these up and generally he is not a cookie eater. Thank You, Grandma Peggy!

    • Debbie you just made my day!! So glad you and your husband liked them! The fact that they are light and crispy, where most oatmeal cookies are a heavier, is why I love them! Thank you so much for letting me know they worked out for you! I will definitely let Grammy Peggy know 🙂

  2. I made these recently and our whole family loved them! Normally we prefer thick and soft cookies, but these were WONDERFUL! They had a great light flavor and were also crispy, but a GOOD crispy!

    • You just made my day! So glad you liked them! You’re right they are different from thicker cookies some may be used to – but that’s why I like them personally. Thank you so much for letting me know!

Leave a Reply

