Potato Chip Cookies

potato chip cookies ericasrecipes 1 WM

Potato chips in a cookie? YES!! Every Christmas season, the question I inevitably get first is “When are you going to make Potato Chip Cookies?” Salty, crispy, sweet – so unexpectedly different in the best possible way. And they freeze great too. This is an old family recipe from Anita Wargo.

Potato Chip Cookies 

  • ¾ c granulated sugar
  • ¾ c unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 t pure vanilla extract
  • 1-½ c all-purpose flour
  • 1/8 t baking soda
  • ¾ c chopped walnuts
  • ¾ c crushed potato chips (I use plain Lays)

Heat oven to 350F.

Combine the first four ingredients, then add the next four. Form 1-in balls, and roll each in granulated sugar. Put sugared cookie dough balls on a cookie sheet, spacing to allow for when the cookies flatten as they bake. Make crisscross marks with a fork.

Bake 12-15 until just barely browned around the edges. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

~✿♥✿~

potato chip cookies ericasrecipes 4

potato chip cookies ericasrecipes 3

potato chip cookies ericasrecipes 2 WM

9 thoughts on “Potato Chip Cookies

  1. When I was a teenager my Aunt had to get a partial plate (dental ) and she had it out and I was telling about a recipe for Potato Chip Cookies. When she said the name of the cookies it came out “Tater Tip Tookies ” . She’s been gone for 10 years thank you for bringing back good memories of her. I’ll have to make some in honor of her. Merry Christmas.

    • Donna I can’t tell you how much this touched me! Thank you so much for sharing this with me! Since I shared this post the other day, people all over have been telling me that they remember having these cookies but hadn’t in years. I didn’t expect such a response! Have a very Merry Christmas and God bless you and your Aunt 🙂 Tater Tip Tookies LOL!

  2. I’m sorry, the instructions say nothing about when to add chips, or what sugar to roll into. Sure it’s powdered sugar. Did I miss something? Want to make.

Leave a Reply

