Not My Mom’s Goulash

not my mom's goulash watermark1

So let me explain, because my mom will see this title and not be pleased….Growing up, my mother made things I loved like Mom’s Awesome Veggie Dip, Tuna Noodle Casserole, and Mom’s Meatloaf (sort-of). But she also made goulash. Weekly. And I hated it (sorry Mom!). I really can’t explain it, I just didn’t like it. But then I grew up and added WINE (and veggies and thyme) and that fixed everything!!   (LOVE YOU MOM!)

Not My Mom’s Goulash

  • 1 ½ cups uncooked elbow macaroni (~5 ½ oz)
  • 1 lb lean hamburg
  • 1 can condensed tomato soup
  • 1 can stewed tomatoes, undrained
  • ¼ c red wine
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 medium carrot, grated
  • 1 t fresh thyme leaves
  • ½ t kosher salt
  • pinch fresh cracked pepper

Cook the macaroni for 1 minute less than the package directions say for al dente (this is 6 minutes for mine) in heavily salted water.

Meanwhile, in a large nonstick saute pan on medium-high heat, lightly brown the hamburg. Reduce heat to medium-low, and add the remaining ingredients. Simmer while the pasta cooks. During this time, use a wooden spoon or spatula to break up the tomatoes a bit.

Once the macaroni is done, drain and immediately add to the meat and tomatoes. Mix well, and cook 1 minute to finish cooking the pasta. Taste and adjust for seasoning. Done! Serves 4-6.

~✿♥✿~

Here, the meat is browned and I’ve just added the veggies.IMG_5069

Now I’ve added everything else for it to simmer and get yummy!IMG_5071

Macaroni is in and we are done!IMG_5072IMG_5073

Hey Mom, bet you never thought I’d turn your goulash sexy!
not my mom's goulash watermark2

8 thoughts on “Not My Mom’s Goulash

  1. Pingback: Relavity of Randomness I (Taylor Swift, Goulash and Education) | On the Verge. . .

  2. i make it all time and my kids hated it.. entire my family on my fathers side loves it i grew up eating it and still does it!! we usually trweak it varity and still good! its perfect for winter months!

Leave a Reply

