Cajun Pizza with Andouille and Shrimp

cajun-pizza-ericasrecipes-watermark-andouille-shrimp 2

Yesterday, I went to my local gourmet food shop and there just happened to be a very nice gentleman with a tasting table to sample his prepared, wood-fired pizza crust. Well, of course I tried it and it was very good so I bought a couple.

I can’t really explain how I thought of doing a Cajun pizza – it just kindof came to me. I’ve never put seafood on pizza before, but it totally works. This pizza tasted really really good! And now, when I am unable to make my own pizza dough, I have a local go-to. The company is The Pizza Gourmet at http://www.woodgrilledpizzacrusts.com. Outstanding product. The crust tastes as if I grilled it 🙂 At the same time, if you don’t have access, then just go with what is available at your grocery store. Regardless of your source of crust, this is an outstanding pizza recipe and easy weeknight meal!

Cajun Pizza with Andouille and Shrimp

  • 1 t cajun seasoning (such as Tony Chachere’s)
  • 12 oz shrimp, shelled and deveined
  • 1 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 prepared pizza crusts
  • 8 oz prepared marinara
  • 1 small onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 medium green bell pepper, seeded and thinly sliced
  • 8 oz andouille sausage, thinly sliced
  • 4 oz sliced mushrooms
  • 2 c shredded mozzarella
  • many sprinkles Cajun hot sauce

Toss the shrimp with the Cajun seasoning.

Preheat oven to 450F with a pizza stone in the oven. Heat for 10 minutes past when your oven says it’s ready because it’s not ready yet.

In a large saute pan, heat the olive oil on medium-high heat. Add the shrimp in a single layer, and cook a minute or so until a little pink, then flip. Cook another minute then remove from the heat. You don’t want them cooked all the way through – they will finish cooking with the pizza in the oven.

Put a pizza crust on a large baking sheet or cutting board. Top with half of the marinara, sausage, shrimp, onion, bell pepper, mushrooms, cheese, and hot sauce. Transfer to the preheated pizza stone and bake 10-12 minutes until cheese is melty and the crust is crisp. Take out of the oven and transfer off the pizza stone. Repeat the entire process with the other pizza crust. Serve with additional hot sauce. Serves plenty 🙂

~✿♥✿~

IMG_5211IMG_5210IMG_5212 - Edited (1)IMG_5215 - Edited

9 thoughts on “Cajun Pizza with Andouille and Shrimp

  1. Can’t wait to try. I love your recipes wish they would come printer friendly. I never know how to print them with picture! Thank You!

    • Dot, I am so glad you posted this comment! I have just added a “printer-friendly” button at the bottom of the recipe. If you click that, a printer-friendly version will be displayed. You can then either print that as is (and the photos will be included) or just highlight the recipe itself (I only put one photo before the recipe and all others after the recipe) and print just selected text. I hope this helps and thank you so much for pointing this out to me!

  2. Hi Erica, it is Jack from “The Pizza Gourmet – Wood Grilled Pizza Crust”. That Cajun shrimp pizza looks amazing! Can’t wait to try it out. My crust are so versatile! Don’t hesitate to call, I have some great suggestions for additional recipes.
    Thanks for sharing my crust with you readers!

Leave a Reply

