Microwave Popcorn without the Chemicals

microwave popcorn ericasrecipes 1a watermark

Popcorn makes my 3 year old son happy. Very. Happy. But microwave popcorn is loaded with chemicals and while the jury may be out on how potentially damaging these chemicals are, I’m thinking perfluorooctanoic acid and the diacetyl fumes can’t be good. My son needed an intervention, or maybe I did because I was the one caving and letting him eat so much of the stuff. So I tried this alternative that is just as quick and easy, but cheaper and so much healthier. And now my son and I are both very happy.

Microwave Popcorn without the Chemicals

  • 1/4 c uncooked popcorn kernels
  • 2 t butter
  • 1/2 t kosher salt

Put the popcorn, butter, and salt in a brown paper bag. Microwave on high 2 minutes (may want to set the bag on a couple paper towels because the bag will absorb much of the butter). Done!

Note: I first tried this with unsalted butter and found that batch to be bland. Then I tried it with Olivio (a spreadable butter) and that batch tasted great!

This recipe was adapted from one at The Foodie Affair.

~✿♥✿~

microwave popcorn ericasrecipes 3

microwave popcorn ericasrecipes 2

One thought on “Microwave Popcorn without the Chemicals

  1. Hey Erica, thank you so much for pointing out all the chemicals in microwaved popcorn. If I may add, to stay away from genetically modified popcorn also, as GMO’s have not been proven safe to our health. Buy only organic corn and popcorn. I pop mine the old fashioned way in a pot with a little bit of coconut oil. Add real salt and nutritional yeast. Here’s a link to a compilation of studies done regarding the adverse impacts (tumors and such) of GMOs:

    http://indiagminfo.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/04/Sci-ref-April-2013-complete.pdf

Leave a Reply

