Raid-Your-Kids’ Halloween Candy Brownies

halloween candy brownies ericasrecipes 9 watermark

Yup. I did. Raided my kids’ candy so I could bake something new. My daughter’s reaction when she gets home from school should be interesting. She loves brownies but I did use a lot of her candy, so it could go either way.

I have been working on my own “Best Brownie” recipe for a long time. This is not that recipe. This one is for fun and does make a very tasty brownie. Because this recipe uses super sweet milk chocolate, I cut back on the additional sugar, added espresso, and used salty pretzels to cut that sweetness a bit. And I was able to make a nice dent in the Halloween booty.

Raid-Your-Kids’ Halloween Candy Brownies

  • 5 oz milk chocolate, chopped (Nestle’s count)
  • 1 stick (1/2 c) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/3 c unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 t instant espresso
  • 1 c sugar
  • 2 t pure vanilla extract
  • ½ t kosher salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 c all-purpose flour
  • candies and pretzels for topping
  • cooking spray

Heat oven to 350F.

Put the butter and chocolate in a medium mixing bowl. Melt by heating in the microwave for 30 second increments and whisking after each. Add the remaining ingredients in the order given.

Spread the batter in a 8×8 nonstick baking pan sprayed with cooking spray. Bake 25 minutes. Top with candy and pretzels and bake another 5 minutes so the candies get melty and brownies are cooked to desired doneness (I like them fudgy).

~✿♥✿~

I have no explanation for how we ended up with so much candy. I blame my husband.
halloween candy brownies ericasrecipes 1

I couldn’t find enough Hersheys chocolate, so I threw in some Nestle’s.halloween candy brownies ericasrecipes 4

halloween candy brownies ericasrecipes 3

halloween candy brownies ericasrecipes 2

halloween candy brownies ericasrecipes 5

halloween candy brownies ericasrecipes 6

halloween candy brownies ericasrecipes 8 watermark

halloween candy brownies ericasrecipes 7 watermark

Paradise-FeaturedMe150x150_zpsd5ee6a63 (1)

Recipe also linked to
thursday blog hop     southern party

7 thoughts on “Raid-Your-Kids’ Halloween Candy Brownies

  1. Pingback: A Peek Into My Paradise TGIF Link Party #28 & Lucky Break Wishbones Giveaway

  2. Pingback: T.G.I.F. Link Party #28 | The TipToe Fairy

Leave a Reply

