My Green Bean Casserole

green bean casserole ericasrecipes 2 WM

Thanksgiving is around the corner and everyone has their favorite green bean casserole. This is mine. Yes, I use cream of mushrooms soup. And French’s onions. I make zero apologies. Could I make my own cream sauce and fry my own onions – of course but am I going to on a busy holiday cooking day? Nope. I make this. I keep it easy and then add some perfectly browned mushrooms and leave the green beans long and sexy. Perfect as is.

My Green Bean Casserole

  • 12 oz green beans, ends trimmed
  • 8 oz sliced baby portabella mushrooms
  • 2 T unsalted butter
  • 1 (10-3/4 oz) can condensed cream of mushroom soup, undiluted
  • milk
  • good pinch kosher salt
  • good pinch fresh cracked pepper
  • 3 oz French’s fried onions

Preheat oven to 350F.

Bring a pot of water to a boil. Add the green beans and blanch 2 minutes. Transfer immediately to an ice bath to stop the cooking. Drain and set aside.

In a medium skillet, heat the butter on high heat. Add the mushrooms and cook, tossing occasionally, until browned. Remove from the heat.

In a large mixing bowl, combine the blanched green beans, mushrooms, soup, 1/2 a soup can full of milk (use the soup can to measure, fill half way with milk), salt, pepper, and half the fried onions. Transfer to a small casserole dish and bake 30 minutes. Top with the remaining fried onions, and bake 10 minutes more. Serves 6.

~✿♥✿~

green bean casserole ericasrecipes 5

For more detailed instruction on how to brown mushrooms, check out my article here.green bean casserole ericasrecipes 6

green bean casserole ericasrecipes 4

green bean casserole ericasrecipes 3

green bean casserole ericasrecipes 1 WM

3 thoughts on “My Green Bean Casserole

  1. Pingback: Slow Cooker Green Bean Casserole | The Veggie Slaughterhouse

Leave a Reply

