Black Cherry Cup Christmas Cookies

cherry cups ericasrecipes 7 WM2

Every December when I make Christmas cookies, these are the first ones I make. My recipe is adapted from an old family recipe from Anita Wargo. The original recipe uses canned pie filling, but in recent years I’ve started making my own filling and sprucing it up with some bandy.

Black Cherry Cup Christmas Cookies

For the crust:

  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 1 c butter
  • 2 c all-purpose flour

Let cheese and butter soften, then combine. Stir in flour. Shape into 1-in balls. Using a muffin tin for miniature muffins, use each ball to line cups.

For cherry filling:

  • 5 c frozen cherries
  • 2 T fresh lemon juice
  • 2/3 c granulated sugar
  • 4 T cornstarch
  • 2 T brandy
  • 1/4 t ground cinnamon
  • pinch kosher salt
  • powdered sugar for dusting

In a medium saucepan, combine the ingredients for the filling (all listed except the powdered sugar). Simmer gently ~5 minutes until gelled.

Fill each crust lined cup with 3 cherries and some sauce (be careful not to over fill). Bake at 350 for 25-30 min or until crusts are lightly browned. Makes 48 cookies.

To store: put cookies in a single layer in a large ziploc bag. I store them in the freezer.

~✿♥✿~

cherry cups ericasrecipes 3

Yes, I have a tool…cherry cups ericasrecipes 2

cherry cups ericasrecipes 4

cherry cups ericasrecipes 5

cherry cups ericasrecipes 6 WM

Recipe linked to

11 thoughts on “Black Cherry Cup Christmas Cookies

  1. These are lovely. Cherry jam is my favorite, so I bet I’ll love these. And, if you put a little chocolate on or in them, they’d be black forest cups. MMMMM

  2. Erica, would the filling still taste okay if I substituted the cherries for another kind of berry, like strawberries or blueberries? Also, how much pie filling would I use if I had to use pie filling?

    Thanks for this great recipe!

Leave a Reply

