Healthy Week: Lunches 6 {Salmon, Cucumber, and Greek Yogurt Salad}

salmon salad ericasrecipes 1 WM

The sixth installment in my Healthy Week Lunch series is all about the fact that I have only recently discovered Greek yogurt. Seriously. I’ve never been a fan of yogurt ever since in second grade I was forced by my mother to eat plain, homemade yogurt brought by a neighbor when I was ill. But I’ve been learning, and growing, and trying to become a better person in life, and be cool and healthy in my 40s. Apparently that means eating Greek yogurt. And this recipe is the big branch out…..replacing mayonnaise with Greek yogurt in a salmon lunch salad. And I love it.

The recipe below makes 2 servings – i.e. not a week. Yogurt and cucumber both give off a lot of water, so this healthy week can’t all be done in advance. BUT, I cooked 1lb salmon and used half of it to make this recipe below, then I’ll use the rest of the salmon Wednesday to make another 2 days worth. Friday I’ll figure something else out or get more salmon 🙂 Also, I kept this super simple, but a little chopped parsley or dill would surely spruce it up even more!

Healthy Week: Lunches 6 {Salmon, Cucumber, and Greek Yogurt Salad}

  • 1 lb salmon with the skin on
  • kosher salt
  • fresh cracked pepper
  • Old Bay seasoning
  • 1/2 cucumber, peeled, seeded, diced
  • 2 T red onion, diced
  • 2 T plain Greek Yogurt
  • whole wheat toast or pita for serving (I use Genesis 1:29 Sprouted Grain and Seed Bread)

Heat oven to 400F.

Place the salmon on a bake sheet, skin side down. Season with salt, pepper, and Old Bay. Bake 15-18 minutes until it flakes easily with a fork. Set aside to cool.

In a bowl, combine half the salmon with the remaining ingredients (reserve the rest of the salmon for another use or to make the salad again in a couple days).

Serve divided on 2 slices of toasted whole grain bread, open-faced, or in a whole wheat pita. Yields 2 servings.

~✿♥✿~

Check out my other Healthy Week Lunches!

salmon salad ericasrecipes 5

salmon salad ericasrecipes 4

salmon salad ericasrecipes 3

salmon salad ericasrecipes 2

salmon salad ericasrecipes 6 WM

2 thoughts on “Healthy Week: Lunches 6 {Salmon, Cucumber, and Greek Yogurt Salad}

Leave a Reply

