Sam Adams Beer Pizza Dough

Sam Adams Beer Pizza Dough

Oh yes I did. Made pizza using beer. If there’s a way to work beer into a recipe, I’ll do it. I’ve brined with it, made barbecue, bread dip, sandwiches, crepes… I’ve even stuck it up a chicken’s rear-end. And now I’ve made pizza with it. If you hear a sense of pride in my writing about this, you would be correct.

Friday night is generally pizza night in our home, and this is taken pretty seriously. At least by me. Sometimes it’s ordering out, and sometimes (oftentimes) it’s using a purchased crust. But every so often I make the dough, and those nights are extra special. I’ve always made a Whole Wheat Pizza Dough that we absolutely love, but I wanted a basic white dough in my arsenal too. The beer is just a special touch.

Sam Adams Beer Pizza Dough

  • 1 (12 oz) Sam Adams Boston Lagar beer
  • 1 packet (1/4 oz) Rapid-Rise yeast
  • 1 T honey
  • 1 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 3-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 T kosher salt

Sit the beer in a bowl full of hot tap water. Let the beer warm up so the yeast will be happy.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the dough hook, add the beer and yeast. Let yeast proof 5 minutes. Add the honey and olive oil. With the mixer running on “stir”, add the flour. Knead the dough 10 minutes. Put the bowl in a warm place for the dough to rise ~1-1/2 to 2 hours (I blast my oven on preheat 2 minutes, turn it off, then stick the bowl in there).

Turn the dough out on a floured surface and divide into 2 portions. Knead each 10 times to get it good and elastic. Put the pizza stone in the oven, and heat oven to 450F. Heat another 15 minutes to ensure the pizza stone is fully heated. While the oven is heating, the dough will rise a bit more.

Using a rolling pin, roll out one piece of dough into a 12- to 14-inch round. Move dough to the pizza stone and add toppings. Bake at 450F for 15-20 minutes until crust is cooked through. Yield: dough for 2 pizzas.

~✿♥✿~

Sam Adams Beer Pizza Dough

Sam Adams Beer Pizza Dough

Sam Adams Beer Pizza Dough

Sam Adams Beer Pizza Dough

10 thoughts on “Sam Adams Beer Pizza Dough

  1. This is the best pizza dough recipe! My husband and I have been using this recipe for two years and have experimented with a variety of their (Samuel Adams) beer. Mmmmmm….!

    Shannon Gorton

  2. Pingback: Chicken Cordon Bleu Pizza | Erica's Recipes

  3. Pingback: Spirited Cooking: Cooking with alcohol | Little Family Adventure

  4. Pingback: Chicken Cordon Bleu Pizza

Leave a Reply

